Delete Messages on iPhone with This Easy Steps – 2024 Guide

Logan Miller | Jan 24, 2024

One of the most loyal Apple fans on earth. He loves to explore the rarely known tricks for iOS devices, helping his followers to increase the productivity of Apple devices in their daily life.

The iPhone makes it easy for you to delete individual text messages and conversations on iMessage.

With our complete guide, you can learn how to delete messages on your iPhone with ease. It is also possible to undo messages you sent or edit them when you use the iOS 16 models. Let's take a closer look!

Delete Single Messages From Your Messages Thread

If you no longer want to have a message in your messages thread on your iPhone, you think the thread is getting crowded, or you want to get rid of specific messages for privacy reasons, you can delete it.

Steps

  1. Open a conversation in the iMessages app.
  2. Conversation in the iMessages app

    Conversation in the iMessages app

  3. Within it, touch and hold the message bubble. This opens an options menu.
  4. Message bubble in the iMessages app

    Message bubble in the iMessages app

  5. Click on More > Trash > Delete Message.
Delete Message in the iMessages app

Delete Message in the iMessages app

Undo a Sent Message with iOS 16

When you delete a message, it only disappears from your thread, and the contact can still see it. But if you want to delete a message from your thread and the person you are chatting with, you should undo the message instead.

Steps

  1. Open the Messages app and click on a conversation.
  2. Touch and hold the message that you want to unsend.
  3. Click on Undo Send.
  4. Undo Send

    Undo Send

  5. You get a notification that says, ‘You sent a message'.
You unsent a message

You unsent a message

Edit a Sent Message

Everyone has made embarrassing typos when chatting with a contact on the iMessage app. Before the iOS16, you had to let the recipient know that you made a mistake in another message.

But now, you can edit a sent message within 15 minutes after it was sent. If you edit it, you see Edited under the message. You can edit a message up to five times within 15 minutes.

Steps

  1. Open Messages and click on the conversation.
  2. iMessage Conversation

    iMessage Conversation

  3. Touch and hold the message that you want to edit.
  4. Touch and hold the message that you want to edit

    Touch and hold the message that you want to edit

  5. Click on the Edit button.
  6. The message you sent is available to edit

    The message you sent is available to edit

  7. Edit the text and click on the checkmark to send it. You can click on X to go back to the original message.
Edit the message and send

Edit the message and send

The Message is edited and Send Successfully

The Message is edited and Send Successfully

Delete Conversation on iMessage

Although you can delete a single thread of messages in a conversation, it's also possible to delete an entire conversation on the iMessage app.

If you think you have too many conversations on your phone or no longer want to have a specific conversation, it's easy to delete it.

Steps to Delete a Conversation

  1. Open the Messages app and click on the conversation you want to delete.
  2. Swipe left on the conversation.
  3. Swipe left on the conversation

    Swipe left on the conversation

  4. Click on Delete.
  5. Confirm Delete in the pop-up menu.
Delete the conversation

Delete the conversation

Steps to Delete Multiple Conversations

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Click on Edit at the top-left corner of the page.
  3.  Edit pop up

    Edit pop up

  4. Choose the conversations you want to delete.
  5. Multiple conversations selected

    Multiple conversations selected

  6. Select Delete .

Recover Deleted Messages in a Conversation

It is possible to recover a message that you deleted in a conversation after 30 days. You can also recover the entire conversation that you have deleted. In the beginning, you can choose to hide the messages instead of deleting it if you don't want this happening again.

Steps

  1. Click on the arrow (<) on top of the message conversation.
  2. Click on Edit > Show Recently Deleted OR Filters > Recently Deleted.
  3. Show Recently Deleted OR Filters

    Show Recently Deleted OR Filters

  4. Click on the message that you want to recover.
  5.  Recently Deleted on iMessages

    Recently Deleted on iMessages

  6. Select Recover Messages.
  7. Recover Messages

    Recover Messages

How to Mark a Message as Unread with iOS 16

Another feature added for iMessages on iOS 16 is marking a message unread.

This feature is helpful if you don't want to address the contents of a message. You can mark it unread so that it remains a new message until you have the time to read it.

Steps

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Click on the message in the conversations list.
  3. Long press it and click on Mark as Unread.
Mark as Unread

Mark as Unread

Conclusion

Now that you know how to delete messages on your iPhone, you can easily keep your conversation list organized.

You also know other helpful features, like undoing the sent messages and editing a message you have already sent. It makes it easy to eliminate typos or messages you didn't mean to send.

I hope this guide is helpful. Visit Mobitrix for more iPhone tricks!