How Can You Wipe Your iPhone Before Selling It?

You don’t want your private data in anyone’s hands. You can ensure this by properly wiping your iPhone and resetting it. In this article, I will be going through some great ways for you to do just that. Get ready.

Catalog

Bradley | Sep 30,2021
Reporter for five years, interacted with individuals working in the technology industry.

How Can You Wipe Your iPhone Before Selling It?

Phones are our life. We keep a huge amount of our data on our tiny devices. That’s why when you’re thinking of selling your phone to someone or maybe just giving it to a friend, you need to wipe it completely.

You don’t want your private data in anyone’s hands. You can ensure this by properly wiping your iPhone and resetting it. In this article, I will be going through some great ways for you to do just that. Get ready.

Part 1: How Can You Transfer Data from Your Old iPhone to The New Device?

Before you even think of wiping down your phone, you need to create either a backup or transfer all your data to your new device. Usually, the second option is much better. You can directly set up your new device for use as well.

Your new device may either be an Apple phone or an Android one. The ways you can transfer data to these devices will vary.

For Apple Devices

Depending on what version of iOS your new device has, you’ll have a couple of options:

Option 1 – If your iPhone runs on iOS 11 or higher, you can try Quick Start Quick Start is an automatic feature provided by Apple for easier data and settings transfer between two Apple devices. So you can easily use this to transfer everything from your old phone to the new one.

Option 2 – If you have an iPhone that uses iOS version 10 or below, you can just use iCloud, Finder or iTunes to transfer all your data to the new phone from the old one.

For Android Devices

In case your new device is not an Apple device but an Android phone, you can use third-party tools to transfer data such as WhatsApp chats. You could use something like Mobitrix WhatsApp transfer.

This is ideal because no official way is yet available to transfer your data from an Apple device to an Android one.

After you have transferred your data to the new phone, you can go ahead and delete all the data from your old device.

Part 2: How to Wipe Your iPhone – With Apple ID & Password

If you are looking to erase everything from your phone and you happen to remember your Apple ID and password, you have a bunch of choices in front of you.

1. Use Settings to Erase Your Device

You can erase all data and settings from your iPhone using just the Settings alone. To do this:

  1. On your old device, open Settings.
  2. settings
  3. From amongst Settings, find and open General.
  4. On the General settings page, go to Reset.
  5. Now you will need to select the option titled Erase all Content and Settings.
  6. You will be asked to confirm your choice so tap on Erase Now
  7. You may be asked to enter your password at this stage. Do so if you are prompted.

This will remove your device from the Find My iPhone devices list.

Some disadvantages:

Even though this is a simple method, it does have a drawback. You can’t erase your private data such as GPS Location history or credit card info through this method. In that case, you will need to refer to one of the other methods in this article.

2. Reset the Rest of the iPhone

Before you decide to hand off your iPhone to someone else, you need to log out of all the relevant accounts on your device. One of these important accounts happens to be your Apple account.

a. Logging out of Apple Account

To log out of the Apple ID on your device, you can follow one of the following procedures depending on what iOS your device uses:

For iOS 10.3 or Later

  1. Open Settings on your device.
  2. You will see your name on the top of the screen if you are logged in. Tap it.
  3. Sign out of your account. You may be prompted to enter your Apple account password.
  4. Tap close.

For iOS 10.2 or Lower

  1. On your Apple device, go to Settings.
  2. Go to iCloud.
  3. Here, log out of your iCloud account. You will be asked to confirm that you do wanna sign out. You can confirm by tapping Sign Out once more.
  4. Tap on Delete from My [Device Name]. Then enter your password when you are asked.
  5. Now go back to Settings once again.
  6. Tap on iTunes and App Store and then Apple ID.
  7. Tap on Sign Out to sign out of your iTunes and Apple Store as well.

b. Logging Out of iMessage

When you are selling or handing off your old iPhone, you also need to log out of your iMessage account from the old device. This is essential if you want to receive all your messages on your new iPhone.

To log out of iMessage:

  1. Make sure your SIM card is still in your new iPhone. If not, put it in.
  2. On your old device, go to Settings and then go to Messages.
  3. Close iMessage. Then go back to Settings.
  4. Find and tap FaceTime. Close it as well and then exit out of Settings.

c. Turning Off Find My iPhone Feature

If your account is logged in to the old phone’s Find My account, it can pose problems for the new owners. It will prevent them from activating the device. So make sure that you log out of Find My on your old iPhone before it goes to the new owner. For this:

  1. On your old device, open Settings.
  2. You will see your account (your name) at the top. Tap it.
  3. Go to Find My and then to Find My iPhone.
  4. how to erase ipad without passcode via find my phone erase ipad
  5. Disable the feature by changing the status of the slide button. You’ll be asked to enter your Apple ID at this point too.

Now that you have logged out of all accounts on your old device, you are one step closer to handing it over to its new owner.

Even though this process will prove successful, it is a bit tedious and long. If you want an easier method of erasing your iPhone quickly, read ahead.

Part 3: How to Wipe Your iPhone – Without Apple ID & Password (LockAway)

If you are planning on reselling your old iPhone or giving it to someone else, it is best that you permanently reset it. You can do so with a trusted third-party tool such as LockAway. LockAway will erase your device without any chances of data being restored again.

To erase your device with LockAway:

  1. On your computer, download and install the tool.
  2. Connect your iPhone to the computer with LockAway on it. You can do so with a USB cable.
  3. From the options on the main screen, select Unlock Apple ID.
  4. Mobitrix LockAway - Unlock Apple ID - Home
  5. Click on Start to erase everything from your device. And remember not to disconnect your device from the computer until the process finishes.

Advantages

  • You can use LockAway to permanently erase everything on your old device making it a new one.
  • LockAway is very simple to use. You don’t need any special instructions.
  • You don’t have to download iTunes or Finder to use LockAway.
  • You can use LockAway without Apple ID or password, which can come in handy if you tend to forget your credentials.
  • LockAway protects your privacy and data.
  • It works with all iOS versions, iPhone models, and Computers (Mac/Windows).

Summary

When your iPhone changes hands, you should ensure that all of its data is completely wiped off - this will get rid of all your data and settings. And the ideal way to do this efficiently and easily is by using LockAway.

Bypass Any Locks For Your iPhone/iPad.

Easy to Use
Protection of Privacy
Unlock Quickly